Daily Archives: November 4, 2011

A murmuration of starlings

This is quite possibly the most perfect film ever made.  Simply titled, Murmuration, this two-minute film by Sophie Windsor Clive and Liberty Smith, is on the Mo Perfection List.  This film, my friend, is the one for which the big screen and surround sound was made.  What is a murmuration?  It is, as the end of the short film tells us, a collection of starlings.

But a collection of starlings, that is, a murmuration, up close and personal in a way I’ve never experienced, but hope to soon.  Enjoy the film; we’ll get back together after you’ve had a moment to come down from the breathless state in which you will find yourself.  Not to be your mommy, but use the full-screen option once you push play.  3 . . . 2 . . . 1 . . .

See what I mean?

For more information, Huffington Post did a piece on the video, adding other references, video and pictures.  Me?  I just want to watch this one again, and so I shall.  But I’ll admit that I discovered only after I’d watched it at least three quarters of a dozen times that an eight-minute version appears to exist that has been selected in three film festivals!  Atlaaaaaaaanta!  Sophie and Liberty.  Come to Atlaaaaaaanta.

Now, let me go see if I can find that track (perfectly scored by Nomad Soul) by Emmet Glenn and Band, maybe at www.islandsandrivers.co.uk.