Wellness in Healthcare

I am attending a training this weekend on how to incorporate wellness into the practice of western health care.  Now, the truth is, the training doesn’t focus on allopathic practices.  But I figure that most alternative health care practitioners are already trying to think in terms of underlying nutritional and physical causes.   So for me, I want to talk to those conventional practitioners out there who realize that proper nutrition, including nutritional supplementation to offset the vitamin-gobbling action of many prescription medications, is a hole in their practice of medicine that they intend to fill.

Thomas Edison said,  The doctor of the future will give no medicine, but will interest his patients in the care of the human frame, in diet, and in the cause and prevention of disease.

I don’t even want to go into my usual diatribe about medications and . . . not gonna do it.  I just want to say that I am excited.  The thought that my doctor or, better yet, my mother’s doctor might evaluate her from a nutritional perspective and then get busy doing something about it is an awfully happy thought for this nutrition freak.

So, goodnight and sweet dreams.  Here’s wishing you a doctor that is interested in your nutrition.

Leave a comment