I’m going over to .org

OMG.  I’m preparing for Day Two of Wordcamp Atlanta 2012 (#WCATL).  I’m there with my friend @3pupsinapopup.  Thank God.  Funny how you don’t feel as lost when you share that experience with somebody.  As lost.

Cove Blue for Jiyu dolphin blog

Cove Blue for Jiyu: In the end, it's about respect. This is how she looks now at .com.

We’re both poised on the precipice of leaving .com and going over to, gulp, .org.  I know, I know.  I shouldn’t make it sound like a scary thing.  If you’ve told me once, you’ve told me a thousand times, it’s easy!

But when you talk about widgets, and plug-ins, and things that aren’t widgets or plug-ins but they’re something else, god knows what; well, let’s just say that I’m feeling a little uneasy about it all.  As if I will never know what you guys who know .org know – the plug-in talk was outstanding by the way.  Don’t you just get a trillion trillion trillion calls?

I do take some pride at being further along than those who still don’t know the difference between a category and a page.

Anyway.  I’m scared.  But excited.  So that I can select the right plug-ins and put them in the right widgets to create and optimally deliver to you what I would consider to be pretty close to the mark (Miss High Standards, to you) what I want to say and how I want to get it across to you.

I just backed up and extracted my file.  For the first time.  I’ll have to do it again in about five minutes to catch this post.  For the migration.  Cool.

I wonder if @3pupsinapopup has done this.

11 responses to “I’m going over to .org

  1. saw your tweet via #wcatl… excited for you! i have a post, as well that can help, just in case… looks like you’ve got everything you need though…!

    http://tentblogger.com/migrate-wordpress-com-org/

  2. Thought I backed up, but hmmm… After 3 hours of my engineer husband doing all the work for me, we got .org installed, but none of my files transferred! Yikes!!!!

  3. @tent -Thank you!! I’m so glad I know how to find you!

    @3pups – I’m puking!

  4. Good luck, ladies! All this struggling keeps you young! I teach this stuff and I can’t keep up. It does seem like the free version of WordPress is getting more limited, while the free version of Blogger is getting a bit more expansive, with more customization features and that seamless interface with other Google products. I set my site up in Drupal a few years ago, and I needed a programmer and a designer. It provides room to grow, but it’s a bit clunky and easy user interface is not it’s strong suit.

  5. Ha, my drupal site is fiftyshift.com.

    I know, I know, I need an update. It never ends.

  6. Thanks! I’m still bobbing and treading water as hard as I can. I’ll check out your site when I come up for air! Jules knows who you are – she’s light years ahead of me. Gulp.

  7. Georgia Bedford

    Wishing you the best on your transition!

  8. Thank you. The guys at @zippykid are helping, so I’m hoping . . .

  9. How’s the move? Let me know if I can help in any way.

  10. I’m still posting in .com because I haven’t migrated yet. Probably one of those waiting period things between the place where I registered my domain (plusplushosting) and my hosting guys (@thezippykid).

    Thanks for asking; I’ll keep you in mind!

  11. The new site is http://www.coveblueforjiyu.com – and the migration is still in process.

Leave a Reply

